DUIs: What Does a Drunk Driving Charge Mean for You?
If you are charged with a DUI, you’re probably asking yourself “what punishments will I face?” In Virginia, a DUI conviction has a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail and/or a $2500 fine (with a minimum fine of $250.00). The actual punishment imposed depends on the individual facts of the case, the driver’s criminal history, and the blood alcohol level. Additionally, a DUI conviction results in a mandatory one year loss of license, requirement that you complete the Alcohol Safety Action Program and the Victim Impact Panel, and installation of the ignition interlock as a condition of a restricted operator’s license. If you are convicted of a DUI 2nd or if you have a blood-alcohol content of .15 or greater, harsher penalties may apply and you may even be subject to certain mandatory minimum jail sentences.At Biberaj Snow & Sinclair, PC, our attorneys are experienced DUI attorneys. Our representation has resulted in our client’s DUI cases being dismissed, reduced or receiving lesser punishment. Buta Biberaj, a principal of the firm, was recognized by the National Advocacy for DUI Defense, LLC as a “Top 100 DUI Attorneys in the State of Virginia” in 2013 and 2014 and as a “10 Best” in 2014 for Client Satisfaction by the American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys.If you are charged with a DUI or DWI and need the best defense, you want to be represented by Biberaj Snow & Sinclair, PC.
About the Author Attorney Biberaj Snow & Sinclair has been achieving successful outcomes during pre-trial negotiations as well as in the courtroom, defending clients on nearly all types of criminal defense cases.